noobbeauty.blogg.se

Textexpander alternative
Textexpander alternative










textexpander alternative
  1. #Textexpander alternative full#
  2. #Textexpander alternative series#

Journal Royal Society Interface, 6 November, 2014, vol. "Exploiting short-term memory in soft body dynamics as a computational resource" For example, I used that when I organized the entire review process of a conference (contact, follow-up, etc.), or when I organized a special issue and an e-book on a research topic (invitation, reviewers' feedback, follow-up, results, etc.).įor such longer (email) templates I use a snippet style with a "." as prefix, an idendifier of the project, and a keyword to define the type of the text.

#Textexpander alternative series#

Sometimes I have to write a whole series of people very similar emails. Usually, I have a template with a confirmation that we have received their application, another for rejections, and another for great candidates to get in touch for further interviews. Tip: I use the same style for handling all applications coming in after we have made a call for an open position.

textexpander alternative

If you have TextExpander 4 you can even build snippets, where you choose from predefined different options (i.e., called Fill-ins). Of course you can design different email templates for different reasons for rejections (e.g., maybe you have funding, but the person is not qualified). I wish you the best of luck for your job search. Unfortunately, we don't have any funding available right now. In general, I use the prefix ".e" for all my email templates, therefore, I use for this one ".e.reject". I have defined a TextExpander snippet for fast response. I believe, if someone has made the effort to contact me, they deserve also an answer, even if it is negative. In academia it is quite common to receive numerous emails where people apply unsolicitedly for jobs or internships. Here are some examples how these snippets look like: Therefore, I start all subject line snippets with "[", followed by a key letter like "c" (conference), "r" (report), "p" (paper), or similar, and add some additional letters for the specific project. For any ongoing collaboration that involves multiple persons and that is driven by emails I define labels that I use in subject lines and I design corresponding TextExpander snippets. For example, we collaborate to write papers and proposals, to organize conferences or special issues, to coordinate a report, or to do research. I work on various projects and with a range of different groups. Great subject lines is one of the details that will make you remarkable in interacting with other people. If you use consistently useful subject lines people will appreciate it. Since nowadays we get so many emails, it is crucial to have a great subject line. If they are good, they help the recipient(s) to see immediately what the email is about and they allow to find it later more easily. I hope this is useful for your workflows and maybe they even inspire you to come up with new ones. In this blog post I concentrate on the ones that I use in emails. As a result, I have hundreds of snippets. Whenever something pops up that I have to write more than once, I design a snippet for it. I use TextExpander heavily – all the time and everywhere. David Sparks made a nice little video that shows this new iOS 8 TextExpander keyboard.

textexpander alternative

There exists even a corresponding iOS application (now with it's own TextExpander keyboard) that synchs your snippets to your mobile devices via Dropbox. Maybe the best way is to have a look at the screencasts provided by SmileSoftware – the makers of Textexpander. If you don't know this application yet, you should definitely check it out. The beauty of TextExpander is that it works in any application wherever you type.

#Textexpander alternative full#

It allows you to define little text shortcuts called snippets that will expand to something bigger, like full names or entire text blocks including figures.












Textexpander alternative